Press Release

CFP Foundation and Dr Pepper Team to Celebrate the National Teachers of the Year

TAMPA, Florida – No profession is more vital to the future of our nation than teaching. Yet too often these dedicated men and women are not thanked enough for their lasting contributions. The College Football Playoff (CFP) Foundation believes in celebrating our K-12 educators and through a partnership with the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) has created the “Teacher of the Year Championship Experience” presented by Dr Pepper.

The unique platform of the Teacher of the Year Championship Experience provides a stage to recognize teachers for their impact on our country. The CFP Foundation and CCSSO will jointly host the 56 National Teachers of the Year in Tampa, FL, for the 2017 College Football Playoff National Championship.  These educators will be celebrated at a host of events during the national championship weekend and will be honored on field at halftime of the national championship game on Monday, January 9, 2017, at Raymond James Stadium.

“Since 2008, Dr Pepper has awarded more than $8 million to help students pursue their educational goals,” said Jim Trebilcock, Chief Commercial Officer of Dr Pepper. “Those goals are only possible with the support of amazing teachers.  We simply cannot thank these individuals enough for their dedication to their profession and, more importantly, their daily commitment to educate our children. The 56 Teachers of the Year we celebrate in Tampa are the true champions.”

“The College Football Playoff Foundation and Dr Pepper are committed to being champions of education,” said Britton Banowsky, Executive Director of the College Football Playoff Foundation. “Through the Extra Yard for Teachers initiative, the CFP Foundation looks to celebrate and uplift the teaching profession. We’re honored to have this opportunity to partner with CCSSO and thankful for Dr Pepper for sharing this vision and making the national championship weekend a great showcase for 56 of this country’s finest educators.”

CCSSO operates the National Teacher of the Year program, presented by Voya Financial, which is the oldest, most prestigious national honors initiative that focuses public attention on excellence in teaching. This group is composed of one exemplary State Teacher of the Year from each U.S. state and territory. Each April, America’s Teachers of the Year are announced by CCSSO and honored at The White House by the President of the United States.

“CCSSO is proud to partner with the College Football Playoff Foundation to recognize exceptional teachers across the country for their effective work in the classroom on this national stage,” said Chris Minnich, Executive Director of the Council of Chief State School Officers. “I hope everyone watching the national championship game – whether at home or in person – will take a moment to think about the positive impact a teacher has had on their life and the lives of their family and friends.”

The CFP Foundation’s Extra Yard for Teachers program aims to be the largest initiative ever undertaken by a U.S. sports entity to support and uplift the teaching (grades K-12) profession. Since its inception in 2013, the CFP Foundation has distributed more than $10.69 million through donations in CFP host cities, partnerships with bowls games and athletic conferences, and through funds generated by sales of CFP licensed products, impacting 1.386 million students, 41,607 teachers and 5,571 schools (grades K-12) across the country.

Fans are encouraged to follow the experience of these Teachers of the Year during national championship weekend at #TOYChampExperience.